Sojo post

Had another piece of mine published over at the God’s Politics blog … it’s called “Are single moms the new widows?”  Check it out.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rob on June 25, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Great article, Mr. Holt. Thank you. It made me look up the verse from James that you quoted, about what “real religion” looks like – helping the poor and the widows (and, fast-forwarding 2,000 years, single mothers). What a beautiful verse. I think I should tattoo it on my forehead. That way I’ll see it every time I look in the mirror (must I therefore have it tattooed backwards?). Words to live by, my friend. Words to live by.

    Reply

  2. Posted by A J Daw on June 25, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I found your blog by reading your piece on single mothers as the new widows. I thought about single mothers and how they became SMs and the paragraph about other church members being stingy because it was her own, the single mother in her church, fault. Also when you spoke about the adulteress about to be stoned I again thought, but how did these women do it all alone?

    Reply

  3. Great article. The “spirit” of the James passage is to care for any and everyone who has trouble caring for self. That would include the elderly, physically/mentally challenged, immigrants, etc. I don’t recall Jesus spending a lot of time trying to figure out how people got in their situation. We who can, must assist without enabling or demeaning.

    Reply

  4. It was so nice to find you on Sojourners, and what a pertinent article you’ve written.

    I don’t find any problems with what you wrote or how you said it. I’m searching, however, for a little more intelligence on this topic, though.

    I live in Wollongong, Australia. Single mums are well taken care of financially by the Australian government. For example, women are able to both stay home with their kids and/or afford to go to University simply by virtue of being a single mum. (I realize it might be somewhat slow and difficult to get in the vein of help from the government.)

    My question is . . . aren’t there other needs and how does a very small network of Christians help?

    Reply

  5. Jason –
    Thankfully, in some societies (like yours, perhaps), single moms aren’t the most vulnerable people group. But what about the homeless youth? The aboriginals? I don’t know that much about Australia, but I’d venture to guess that there are groups of people who fly under the radar screen of the government’s help. Also, what if the government didn’t have to help the single mums because they were already taken care of by the church? That kind of action would have reverberations up and down the social ladder.

    Thanks for the comment!

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the article. Well stated. I’ve been impressed personally with similar sentiment in recent days. Meeting human need around the world starts around the block.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Steve Schoonover on June 30, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I just picked up your article on God’s Politics and I congratulate you on a fine piece that should be required reading for all those of us who call ourselves Christian. So often it seems that we will be generous only if we can do so according to a little judgement of the the recipient. What a far cry from what Jesus called us to be. Thanks for the insight and what appears to be a great site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

