Breaking the Lenten Blogfast

Howdy folks … this “getting back into blogging after 40 days off” thing is harder than I thought, and, to be honest, I’m not terribly thrilled about it. I’m considering giving HarvestBoston a topical makeover for the spring and summer, and maybe forever. Perhaps focus on our garden (we have a garden!) and the spiritual implications therein. Details forthcoming.

For now, though, here’s an incomplete list of several things for which I’m thankful these days:

– The resurrection.
This American Life on NPR
– my wife and dog sleeping next to me

– 60 degree days
– tiny seedlings growing taller and greener every day
– our roommate, Tim
– conversation partners who love our neighborhood as much as we do
Scup’s in the Harbor
– wonderful parents
– winter getaways to Florida (back in March)
Sam Adams Imperial Series

– runs along the harbor
– friendly, “above-and-beyond” neighbors
– my job in a book shop

For what are you thankful?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynn Holt on April 15, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    A job I love.
    A husband who loves me no matter what.
    Wonderful sons, daughter-in-law, and granddogs.
    Dogwoods and azaleas blooming all around me.
    McAlister’s sweet tea.
    Abundant life now and forever.
    Washer and dryer.
    Walks on the river.
    Our neighborhood association which is so giving.
    Cruises.
    Mountains.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mitch on April 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Lindy, Mexican food, country music, Cooper my dog, Mom and Dad, Wes Anderson movies, good friends, my education and ability to survive despite how little money I have 😉

    Reply

  3. Is this a Holt-family-only comment section? I’m thankful for all the above plus Jesus, wife that loves me no matter what, Mitch, Steve Jr, Chrissy, Lindy, Damon, Lil Cooper, sunrises, sunsets, steak, opportunities, strict parents, family, Chick-Fil-A ice cream, Fridays off, comfortable bed, our little faithful church, grace and so much more!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lindy on April 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    I’ll break the Holt chain, since I’m not one quite yet. 😉

    I’m beyond thankful for the Holt family, and all that Mitch brings to my life every single day, the smooth transition from Abilene to Austin, my sweet family, my good health, finally finding my passion as a florist, small lessons learned in each day, reeses PB cups (seriously), Cooper, learning from other people around me, and the list goes on.

    Reply

  5. I am thankful my children are entertained by throwing rocks in a lake and endlessly hiding Easter eggs.

    I am thankful for luxuries like my dishwasher, hot water heater and washing machine — all of which have been recently repaired.

    I am thankful that my Dad and Mom, two of my sisters and my daughter write poetry.

    I am thankful for pain because it causes me to pursue God. (This is something recent and I am not always thankful for pain.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

