The Visitor

The Visitor.

Watch. This. Movie.

We did on Friday night at our weekly “homemade pizza and a movie” night, and we loved it.  So many great themes:

  • compelling look at the life of two “illegal” aliens living and working in our country
  • beautiful portrayal of a marriage bound by love
  • awesome story of transformation when the couple’s lives crash into that of a white professor (of economic development, no less)

You’ll laugh.  You’ll cry.  You’ll hurl think.  In my estimation, it would be hard to walk away from this movie saying, “That sucked.”  So queue it up on Netflix or get it from the library, if you’re so lucky.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Mom and I watched The Visitor tonight. Excellent! Thanks for the lead.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thepriesthood on February 10, 2009 at 4:41 am

    really enjoyed that one. i’d recommend the Station Agent, and the documentary Man on Wire. Good stuff…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Terry on February 24, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I haven’t checked in on your blog in a whileand oddly enough I did tonight after watching The Visitor…then I see your “review”……..I loved it…Richard Jenkins was great…Glad to see you are doing well

    Reply

  4. Saw that flick a few weeks ago, and I have to agree completely with your assessment. It was excellent. I was not sure what to expect because my parents recommended it and our tastes don’t often match, but that was one I was really glad to see.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Brenna Camp on April 30, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Okay, Brad Carter emailed me the link to this blog. I read it, because we too have started a garden and are also very interested in the spiritual and communal renewal linked to the endeavor. My husband and I also watched this movie a few weeks ago on Netflix, just found it on watch instantly and thought it looked good. It was a very touching and great movie. Hey, Steve, it’s great to see you on here. What a surprise…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

