1-2-3 book meme, a bit late

Jimmy Shaw tagged me almost a month ago for this book meme, but I was buying a house, so I completely forgot to do it.  Anyway, it seems pretty cool.  Here’s the drill:

1. Pickup the nearest book (with at least 123 pages)
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the 5th sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

Well, here goes:

But that has changed in the past few decades, as the economy nationalized and globalized. As we meet fewer of our neighbors in the course of the day, as we become ever more hyper-individualist in our economic lives, those bonds fell away. “Operating in a world of instant communication with minimal social tethers,” Whybrow observes, “America’s engines of commerce and desire became turbocharged.”

If you’re wondering (as I am, because I had not yet gotten to page 123 in the book) what, exactly, has changed, you’ll have to pick up Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future, by Bill McKibben. Yeah, that little excerpt pretty much means nothing without the context of the rest of the book … or at least the 4th sentence on the page … so read it!

OK, who should I tag?  Who still reads this blog?

The Neaves, Miller, Justin, Brandy, and Taylor 

5 responses to this post.

  1. cool, i’ll get something up soon!

    how you likin’ McKibben?

    Reply

  2. Posted by smhjr on March 14, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Really like it so far. His assertion that we’ve lost sight of what the economy is for because of the pursuit of expansion and wealth is spot-on.

    Reply

  3. If I’ve all ready been tagged on this, does internet etiquette allow me to do it again?

    Reply

  4. Deep Economy is great, have that one on my bookshelf…

    well done!

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the tag! I’ll definitely be passing this along … at the very least, it lets me keep up on what people are reading. 🙂 I’m also quite curious about Deep Economy; we should have dinner soon you y’all can show me your new home and tell me about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

