soreness

The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they display knowledge.

They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.

Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.
In the heavens he has pitched a tent for the sun,

which is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
like a champion rejoicing to run his course.
(Psalm 19:1-5)

As I was starting the race on Sunday, my friend Matt called my wife and quoted the verse above, to which he had been led that morning during his devotional time. “Bridegroom … champion rejoicing to run his course …” &emdash; how appropriate for a weekend of celebrating a blessed marriage and running a marathon!
Words fail to describe how satisfying this weekend was for us. Gorgeous weather in the 70s and low 80s, breathtaking mountain vistas with quaint Vermont towns in the valleys, remote bed & breakfast with gourmet food and comfortable accommodations, and, of course, the company of my companion and best friend. (that last one was the “bestest” part)

The race was equally satisfying. Here are the pertinent numbers:

Time: 2 hours, 51 minutes, 5 seconds
Place: 37th 36th overall (5th in 16-24 age category)

(you can see way more information on my race than you probably care to by clicking here)

As you’ll see, I remained amazingly evenly paced through 3/4 of the race, then dropped off slightly in the last 10K. This happens to almost everyone, but it shows me that though my speed was up to par, I can be working more on my endurance for the next marathon so as not to “hit the wall” as hard. “The marathon will humble you,” as marathon great Bill Rodgers once said. (I actually met him this weekend, and he signed my race number) As expected, though, my time qualified me for the Boston Marathon, which looks to be my next 26.2-mile test (next April). So buy your plane tickets for Beantown soon!

I hope to have photos of our weekend up sometime later this week, so look out for those.

Lest there be any confusion, however, the absolute best part of the weekend was not crossing the finish line to a screaming gallery of marathon spectators, but seeing the smile of my beautiful wife from across the breakfast table … strolling hand-in-hand with her down cobbled Church Street in Burlington … curling up with her to watch Indiana Jones and Two Weeks’ Notice in our room … enjoying leisurely drives with her through the green mountains …

You get the picture …

8 responses to this post.

  1. You are unreal, man. Huge congrats. I am working on building my mileage now in the hope that I can qualify for Boston in about a year and run it in 2009. Happy running!

    Reply

  2. WOW!! Congratulations, Steve! Michael and I will happily join Chrissy on the sidelines next April to cheer you on in the Boston Marathon! I’ll have to remember to take the day off work. 🙂 HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to the two of you as well!

    Dinner soon? We still want to give you our grocery cart…

    Reply

  3. Hey Steve-

    Glad you’ve survived the month and the race. I’m also glad to see you’re black in the blogdom.

    Congrats on doing so well–in your race and in your marriage! I look forward to watching you in the Boston Marathon next year.

    Rest, recuperate, and relax.
    You’ve earned it.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lynn Holt on May 29, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Stephen: The Burlington paper says you came in 36th – not to split hairs or anything.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Steve on May 29, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Thanks, mom … I’ll make the correction.

    (woo hoo! I’m moving up! anyone find anything that has me finishing in the top-10?)

    Reply

  6. Good job staying alive!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kevin on June 6, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Great time Steve. That’s incredible and I hate you! I am a fellow marathoner and have yet to break 4 hours so I’m completely jealous. I was running one the same day you did yours and finished in 4:19. My best is 4:09. I can’t even imagine finishing one in the time you did. Boston should be an incredible experience. If you have any tips to shave off 15-30 minutes off my time feel free to shoot them my way.
    We’ve been reading your blog for a while and love what you are doing in Boston. We pray for your ministry.

    Reply

  8. mathmatical odds how they work…

    : …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

