Book Survey

Only recently have I really begun to enjoy reading. I’m excited about my newfound love, but I feel like I’m way behind all you other, more cosmopolitan bookworms out there. So bear with me as you read through the following book survey, which Atheist Revolution tagged me to complete. Oh, and read all the way to the bottom — you might be tagged!

A book that changed my life:
The Bible (specifically, Eugene Peterson’s The Message translation. I realize that scholars have debated its complete accuracy to the original languages/manuscripts, but reading the Bible in more down-to-earth language has really aided my spiritual walk and practical application). I realize I probably just lost the respect of you seminary students/grads out there, but oh well…

A late addition to this question (that I just remembered) is Don Everts’ Jesus With Dirty Feet: A Down-To-Earth Look at Christianity for the Curious and Skeptical. Everts does a great down of “boiling down” Christianity to its essence, sans all the man-made stuff that has been added over the last 2000 years. Plus he does it in a unique, poetic style — in a little over 100 pages! Highly recommended…

A book I’ve read more than once:
Hmmm…I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book more than once, except maybe the Associated Press Style Guide.

A book I would take with me if I were stuck on a desert island:
The Lord of the Rings – If I came upon the unfortunate circumstance that found me on a desert island, I would want to be transported to an imaginary world like Middle Earth, imagining I am a crucial character in a story much bigger than myself — like those knucklehead Hobbits.

A book that made me laugh:
Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

A book that I wish had been written:
We Were Wrong: Apologies for Bad Things Christians do in the Name of God

A book that I wish had never been written:
The Prayer of Jabez: Breaking Through to the Blessed Life by Bruce Wilkinson. Trash. Pure trash. (IMHO) Can’t believe that at one time, I actually owned this thing. (if you’re curious about why I think this book is trash, e-mail me privately.  I’ll be more than happy to let you know…)
A book I’ve been meaning to read:
Homegrown Democrat: A Few Plain Thoughts from the Heart of America by Garrison Keillor. This guy is pure gold in my eyes. Hilarious, hilarious man. Even though I’ve grown disillusioned with both political parties of late, part of me really resonates with Keillor’s party, so I’m sure this is a worthwhile read. (and it’s on my nightstand to read next, hopefully) Another one is N.T. Wright’s new book, Simply Christian: Why Christianity Makes Sense. I’ve found myself nodding profusely at almost everything I’ve read by or heard from Wright, and this one is supposed to be no different. Some are saying it will replace another acronymical (don’t know if that’s a word, but I thought it was appropriate) theologian, C.S. Lewis’, Mere Christianity as the leading Christian apologetical volume.

I’m currently reading:
Ultra Marathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner by Dean Karnazes — this book is one of those that makes me feel like less than a man. This guy is absolutely nuts … his stories are inspiring.

I’m Tagging the Following Bloggers (and for one, hopefully waking them from blogging hibernation…):

Miller Talbot
Chad Smith
Priesthood (ya better do it, buddy…)
The Frys
Mike Cope

2 responses to this post.

  1. This one makes sence “One’s first step in wisdom is to kuesstion everything – and one’s last is to come to terms with everything.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

